Blend Out via Informal Learning

Finding out & learning with Blogs, Wikis, and Web 2.0 Tools

Hello world!

Posted by buthaina on June 7, 2006

Welcome to Blend Out via Informal Learning. This blog was created as one of the assignments I should have completed for Week 2 at the current session, Unworkshop 2, by Jay Cross. I am so excited to be in this course where I’m hoping to learn more from and with all of the participants and moderators.

Unworkshop 2 has come on the right time for me at this point of my learning process as I am desperate to learn more about best practices on how to effectively integrate informal learning to teach ESP, English for Business for a group of branch managers in a local bank here in my country, Kuwait. I actually tried to do that last April-May when I was requested by the HR of Gulf Bank of Kuwait to design and teach a six-week ESP, (English for Business) course . Since the focus was on helping the group of bankers to improve their communication skills, including speaking and writing, I thought of utilizing some of the simple free of charge technologies that supported voice and text chat on the Interent, like blogger.com, skype.com, and podcasting via Odeo.com. I also tried to integarte Jay’s informal learning principles, which I’ve been learning from and following earlier through his blog, Internet Time. I hope to learn more during this session in order to be able to make a better “pancake“.

This is only a general short note about the purpose of creating this blog and why I am in Unworkshop .

Leave a Reply

 
